Modern Dating?

Pic Credit: Tumblr

Pic Credit: Tumblr

Around 9AM this morning, I was half way through my Critical Analysis of Digital Media class when Tinder was brought up. Even though the topic was where the professor was discussing how researching the dating app for a literature review was going to be tricky with how new the topic is, my thoughts went off topic. They went into this pattern:

Most people in my age group (early twenties) have the Tinder app. People who join often say that they join as a joke or for curiosity, which is true in some ways. However, people do join as a way to meet others to either date or meet to hook up. Once you set up your profile with the hottest Facebook pictures you have that show: a) how hot you are or b) that you have a social life, you then find a quick and eye catching description that will help those be somewhat interested in you. Then you are brought to the app where you are able to swipe right or left. Right being you think they are hot or left for those that aren’t attractive to you. When you swipe right and someone else swipes right — it is called a match and boom, you are able to chat in the iMessage looking private chatroom. Numbers can be exchanged and then you can meet and hang out. Cool concept right? I guess.

I had a Tinder — twice. Both times I found it to be a complete waste of time. The conversations were boring and superficial, most of the guys were sexist and misogynistic, and I found that I enjoy being on my own better than dealing with one of those jerks. I knew that I wasn’t going to meet someone worth my time on Tinder, especially when most of them decided I was an object for them to play with. We all know by now, Homie don’t play that.

So this is the dating world that my generation understands. We are all just hooking up because we don’t want to commit to actual relationships. They just want friends with benefits situations instead of anything that means something more. In my opinion, my generation is deeply afraid of getting “deep” with each other. Everyone is so focused on the superficial and the materialistic side of life.

Why do I not participate? Easy. If I’m going to get involved with anyone else at this point, they are going to mean something in my life. If I want to share my life with someone, they will see me as an equal and understand that sexism is a problem and I am a strong, independent woman who does what I want when I want. This is difficult to find in life and something I will not find on Tinder.

End of rant.

PS: I greatly apologize for the profanity concerning the blog picture, but this is an issue with Tinder and males that I feel very strongly about and I wanted to show.

One thought on “Modern Dating?

Leave a comment